Crossing the start line

I’ve been sitting on this blog for a few months now. Ok, more like six months. I’ve written a first post but haven’t had the nerve to publish it. Too personal? Too boring? Too sappy? All of those questions have been swirling around in my head. I’m sure I’ll sprinkle thoughts from that post into future writings, but for now, I’ll make my debut into the blogosphere with something that is very much a part of my life these days. Running.

I’m training for my first marathon, and it’s been much like a new relationship. Exciting, nerve-racking, challenging, fun, exhausting, energizing. I’m in my sixth week of the 18-week program. The sport isn’t new to me. I ran my first half marathon in 2008 with my best gal, Beth. I’ve run four other half marathons and many other smaller races since. I used to say I would never run a full marathon (26.2 miles), but because of life-altering events over the past year, namely my divorce, I needed something to shoot for, a goal, and a sense of purpose in my days. Sure, I have work, friends and family. But I needed something new to focus on with me in the leading role. (Many thanks to all my friends and family for their supporting roles!)

It’s been an invigorating journey so far. I love pounding the pavement and trails through nature. Today, I pushed my limit and ran in the cold rain. It wasn’t just a sprinkle here and there. We’re talking steady downpour. Maybe if I had the adrenaline going that a race sparks, it would have been OK, but this girl definitely prefers dry conditions.

I love taking photos while I run. It’s my way of stopping to smell the roses.

Here are some of my favorite snapshots thus far on my journey to 26.2:

Cool mural I spotted on a run along the Trinity River in Fort Worth, Texas.

A swan spotted at Two Rivers Park in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Turkey Trot ... me with Erin Taylor of Go! Running, a great local running store!

Leave a Reply

