Running with it

One reason I enjoy running so much is it gives me a chance to think without distraction. The other week during a jaunt through my mom’s neighborhood, the title of this blog dawned on me. The only bad thing about thinking and running is I can’t jot down my thoughts to remember them later. I remembered this one, though. It was meant to be, I suppose 🙂

So here I am running with it. The title alludes to my favorite hobby but also my outlook on life, or at least the outlook I strive for every day. This attitude has been a long time coming. Looking back, I think moving multiple times as a child groomed me for being able to deal with change as an adult. And lots of change I’ve had during the past year.

I’ve had very dark moments, and I’ve had very happy ones over the past year. I’ve had some fun travel adventures, and I’ve established close friendships for which I’m so grateful. I know I’m not the only one who’s going through the 30-something single life after marriage. I’m looking for a place to creatively express myself in a way I can’t in my everyday activities. Through this blog, maybe I’ll offer insight to others, and likewise, I hope to learn from them.

I never know what to say when people ask, “Where are you from? What’s your hometown?” I was born in a small Texas town and lived there for five years until my mom, older brother and I moved to a bigger Texas city following my parents’ divorce. Six years later, we moved to Flagstaff, Arizona, a lovely, pine tree-filled town in mountainous Northern Arizona. This was after Mom earned her Ph.D and landed her first professorship.

I get my sense of tradition and etiquette from the South (both sides of the family were born and raised in Arkansas) and my laid-back, let-it-be attitude from the West. I wouldn’t trade my experience of living out West for anything. I learned to snow ski there, enjoyed weekend trips to sunny, warmer Phoenix and really came into my own when I volunteered for Flagstaff’s community theatre. I’m still best friends with my girlfriends from there. After six years in Arizona, Mom and I (brother Mitch was grown and had moved to San Francisco) moved to Arkansas during the summer between my sophomore and junior years of high school. I was miserable the first year, but by the time senior year rolled around, I had made some friends and had a good final year of school at Little Rock Central High.

I don’t feel like this anymore, but for a long time I never felt like I fit in anywhere. I’m sure military children know exactly what I mean. Maybe my big life lesson is that I have to be my own best friend first. With forgiveness and love toward myself, I think I’m getting there.

Things like this butterfly, which appeared before me on my birthday this year, give me hope to live each day and not worry so much about my past or my future. It’s the present moment that matters. Maybe that’s why I love running so much. The present moment, putting one foot in front of the other, is the only thing I can do. Well, that and groove to my favorite tunes 😉

Leave a Reply

