Failing on the cross training

When I trained for my first half marathon four years ago, I didn’t skip a beat, mile or workout. Now that I’m training for my first marathon, I can’t say the same. I follow the mileage workouts as they’re listed on my training schedule sheet, but I falter on the cross training days.

Take today, for instance. After running 12 miles yesterday (and 4 and 7 miles Friday and Saturday, respectively), I’m supposed to do some sort of cross training today when, as I type this, I’m sitting in my flannel pajamas under a blanket instead.

I’m sore. I’m tired. I know I have to run the next three days. I know it’s press week at work, which calls for longer hours. Balancing time is key this week as we’re T minus six days until Christmas. And of course, I still have some shopping and loose ends to tie up before I start the festivities with family and friends. So I took the night off, but it’s not just tonight. Since I began training eight weeks ago, I’ve taken an extra rest day on Mondays. Fridays are designated rest days unless I skip a Thursday run and swap those days.

The other five days, I’m out there tracking my mileage on the roads, trails or treadmill. I mix in some weight training and core work on shorter run days. I should save some of that, or most of it on Mondays, but here I am being lazy again. And I feel guilty. Many folks have told me I inspire and motivate them. Well, here I am feeling doubtful, guilty and demotivated. Yesterday was an especially hard run. I was slated for 14, but could only go for 12. The longer runs are starting to take their toll on me. I feel like a badass for completing them and love running, don’t get me wrong, but going past eight miles has always been very difficult for me. I’m in need of a push to keep me going.

Would I feel better if I simply squeezed in a workout today? It’s hard to say. When I first took up running as a hobby, I made the mistake of overdoing it, which resulted in injury. Maybe my taking it easy on Mondays is my mind’s way of looking out for my body.

I’m sure I’ll get my groove back. Hopefully, it’s just temporarily on break.

2 thoughts on “Failing on the cross training

  1. I so understand your pain! I have a half marathon coming up in less than 4 weeks (RnR Arizona), but with Christmas and the cold weather, I’m finding myself doing more of the curling under a blanket with a glass of wine than I should. And I feel guilty about it too!

    Good luck with your training!

Leave a Reply

