Still here

So this is what it feels like when you don’t have time to blog. I’m a rookie (personal) blogger trying to squeeze in time for this new writing hobby. The space has been quite slim lately.

My busyness has been time well spent, however. I’m working on perfecting a project that will launch me further into the literary world. It’s been three years coming, and I feel like this year is the year. Stay tuned …

I’ve also been busy with marathon training. I’ve hit a bump with that, though. My left shin/calf and knee have been bothering me. I ran 8 miles Saturday. Well, more like walked/ran. After just completing the first mile, I thought I was going to have to give it up. With encouragement from my friend riding a bike next to me, however, I was able to keep going and not give up. At mile 5, after stopping to stretch and taking it easy with brisk walking, I was able to pick up the pace and finish strong.

I’ve been told from experienced marathoners to take it easy to prevent further injury. I can’t help stressing about the fact that I’ve missed two weeks of long runs. I’m accomplishing the shorter runs during the week. But it’s the long runs that are important when training for such a long-distance race. I’m afraid the long runs will make my problem worse.

What to do? Epsom salt, ice, rest … any other advice out there, you marathoners, you?

Leave a Reply

