Enlightened

I went into the weekend a little down. I miss running. I miss yoga. I miss being able to run to my front door or down to my curb to get the trash bin. I know this injury is temporary. There are people far worse off than me. This condition is fleeting. I will get better. I know all of this. But in these present moments, I’m off my game. And it’s had me a little depressed.

Friday night, I embraced another night alone with my feet propped up in my recliner. I stumbled upon the HBO original TV show, Enlightened. I’m so glad I did. What a great show! And lucky for me, HBO was airing Season 1 episodes back to back. I thoroughly enjoyed each one.

Laura Dern stars in the HBO series about taming one’s inner rage and finding purpose and fulfillment amidst the greed and corruption of corporate America. Laura plays Amy Jellicoe, a 40-year-old woman who returns home to California after a month’s stay at a holistic treatment facility. She goes there after having a mental breakdown at work triggered by her self-destructive ways. She has a hard time re-entering her life, and all those she knew are skeptical of her new approach. She meditates and walks around with a high-on-life approach. No one knows really how to handle her. They try to break her down, especially at work, where she has been relegated to the basement in the crunching numbers department. She tries to reclaim the office-with-a-view job she had before going away for treatment; however, she returns only to discover her office is now occupied by her former assistant, Christie, who is also pregnant and married to the man Amy had an affair with before the breakdown.

Amy struggles with her co-dependent alcoholic ex-husband (Luke Wilson) and a strained relationship with her mother, whom she has to live with while she tries to make enough money to live on her own. Though Amy wants to be an “agent of change” in the world, the people who know her best are wary of her latest intentions. She narrates throughout each show. One of my favorite quotes:

“I will not run away from life my whole life. I will try to really live. I will be mindful. I will be wise. I will change. And I will be an agent of change.”

No, HBO didn’t pay me for this endorsement 😉 I just wanted to share my latest discovery. I love shows that touch on real aspects of life that we all deal with but often don’t talk about. Now I just have to wait for Season 2!

Friday night also had me thinking how nice it would be to sit next to a friend and watch movies together. I’m so grateful for the food that two friends have brought me. But I was just thinking about how I’d really like some company longer than 2o minutes. Next thing I know my friend Kari asked me for a dinner and movie night on Saturday.

We shared a yummy to-go dinner from one of a favorite Greek restaurant and had a relaxing night. I went to her house, where I was greeted with a large, soft couch (something I don’t have at the moment). Ah, it was so nice! We watched The Vow, which I have to admit when I saw the previews, I was like, “Barf.” But it was actually a really good movie. Sappy and sweet, yes. But the (totally hot) lead characters (Rachel McAdams and Channing Tatum) didn’t get to those sappy and sweet moments without struggle and strife. A well-deserved happy ending, indeed.

The second movie was less enjoyable. Young Adult with Charlize Theron is tapped as a dark comedy, but I found it weird and depressing. I usually like weird movies that others don’t like. But this girl had no redeeming qualities at all, and I just felt awkward and uncomfortable throughout the film.

It was a good girl night, despite the second movie fail, with chocolate, chatting and chick things.

Book sales are doing well. Such a blessing. I’m so happy it’s now available in print as well. Feels more real, ya know?

Today is the season premiere of True Blood, another HBO original I enjoy. My mom is coming over with a pizza and we’ll watch together.

Lookie there. It’s been a good weekend despite my gimpy foot. Tomorrow morning I go to the doctor to check the status of these stitches and “the what now.” *fingers crossed

Funny what happens when you embrace your current situation. Never know when a little enlightenment will come your way.

Leave a Reply

