September

I’ve been jogging, as my previous blog suggests. Not so good on the blogging end, however. It’s been a busy week, and I’m looking forward to a low-key weekend. Last Labor Day weekend, I was at the Gorge, aka “Heaven’s Amphitheater,” in Washington state. I’ve enjoyed seeing people’s posts and pics from there so far. A beautiful place to witness live music, indeed.

As I (somewhat) save some money this weekend ;), I look forward to running (hopefully, rain from Isaac will die down), relaxing, getting a pedicure, reading and catching a movie at the theater. I was hoping to see the full moon tonight and busting out in “Blue Moon, you saw me standing alone …” but the rain clouded any views for me. I am thankful for the downpours. Since the rain started falling yesterday, it’s started to look like fall outside to me despite the still-muggy and hot temps.

I love fall. It’s my favorite season. For many, spring is the season of renewal. Fall feels like that for me. Leaves fall and things change to make room for newness. It’s refreshing to me, like cleaning out a closet. The iPod shuffled to James Taylor’s “September Grass” tonight while I was driving to dinner … “September grass is the sweetest kind, it goes down easy like apple wine…” love that song. September, which happens to be my birthday month, also holds the first day of autumn, as you know. Another favorite September song is, well, “September” by Earth Wind & Fire. I like to sing it to my mom, as I’m sure she remembers well “the 21st night of September” — I was born the 22nd.

As we get further into the year, I could say plenty about the current political rhetoric. HBO’s “The Newsroom” and various comedy/news programs help my sanity, especially when I let idealogical differences and idiotic notions weigh heavy on my mind. However, the fact remains that “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo” garnered more ratings this week than any other show of substance, if there is such a thing anymore. I can only do my part … read the newspapers daily, gather factual information … After all, “to change the world, start with one step. However small, the first step is hardest of all.”

Thank God for music and beautiful blessings present in everyday life that keep things fresh and original.

One thought on “September

Leave a Reply

