My birthday treat

For my birthday weekend, I ventured to Baltimore, where I rented a car and headed north to Harrisburg/Hershey, Pennsylvania. How nice of Farm Aid to pick my birthday (September 22) for its annual concert! For years, my friend Beth and I have talked about how we’ve wanted to attend the show. This year, we made it happen, and her mom was able to join us. One of my favorite parts of the day was seeing their faces light up when we walked backstage. Feeling their joy and excitement over the all-access treatment was gift enough on my birthday.

Happy girls:)

We had a great time, enjoying great music and supporting a great cause. Each year, headliners Willie Nelson, Neil Young, John Mellencamp and Dave Matthews host the concert to raise money and awareness for local family farming. You can read more about it here. I like this quote in the article from Willie: “I kind of stay in the moment and forget all of the other stuff. Pay attention to what’s going on around you and if we all did that we’d be in a better place.” He was talking about his frustrations toward corporate farming and the recent drought that has affected so many hardworking farmers. However, if we focus on the moment, paying attention to our surroundings, imagine how better off our future would end up being … at least that’s how I interpret it.

The highlight for Beth and Ann was a brief meeting with their star, John Mellencamp, and having him sign their laminates. Jack Johnson was a highlight for me. I had never seen the Hawaiian perform live.

Jack singing Bubble Toes

As you’ll notice in the above picture, we were treated to a pretty sunset. There was a high chance of rain, but the storm clouds (see below) blew over. Thank you, storm clouds.

We were nervous, but they just rolled on by.

I enjoyed getting around in this over the weekend. And kudos to the Baltimore rental car facility! So nice and efficient!

My Kia Soul for the weekend.

Before the festivities on Saturday, I enjoyed a fun birthday dinner at a local Benihana restaurant Friday night. I hadn’t been treated to that kind of cooking show — volcano flaming onion and all — in a while. What fun! Thanks to sweet Jerry for helping us all have a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “My birthday treat

Leave a Reply

