Journeying in 2013

Happy New Year!

I had a busy, busy fall followed by a busy, busy holiday season. I took a wonderful trip to San Francisco over Christmas and will post a photo blog later 🙂

I started this blog in the midst of my marathon training last year. This forum was so helpful as I dealt with the ups and downs marathon training can produce. I have enjoyed reading and keeping up with you other runners out there. Injury forced me to drop to the half marathon. I was disappointed, but it was a great race day despite not being able to reach my initial goal.

Running is still an integral part of my life. I realized yesterday that it’s too late to register for the Little Rock Half Marathon. I knew last fall I wasn’t ready to try for the marathon again (at least not this year), and thought I had time to register for the half. Well, turns out my time ran out. This year would have been my sixth year in a row to participate. I’m a little bummed I won’t be carrying on the tradition. I think I’ll do the 10K instead. “That’s going backwards, isn’t it? You should increase your miles,” someone pointed out to me. The competitive bug inside me didn’t like that question. I felt like I was letting myself down by not participating in the half.

Last night while reading my new Runner’s World (the half-marathon issue coincidentally), I realized there are plenty of half marathons to pick throughout the year. San Francisco, Cincinnati, New Orleans, Nashville, Las Vegas — you name the city, chances are there’s a half marathon happening at some point in the year. I haven’t decided where I will race, and if it doesn’t happen this year, it will happen, and that comforts my running soul.

That’s the great thing about running. There are running events practically every weekend of the year, and you can always get back into race mode. It just takes practice and training. Right now, I’m happy with running the amount of miles I feel like running on a given day.

Lately, I’ve been more concentrated on my yoga practice. I’m grateful for what yoga has done for me, body, mind and spirit. I challenge myself, I find myself doing things I never thought I could do. I fumble, I fall, I laugh, I balance on one foot, I stand tall, I cry, I sweat, I relax. And all in good company. This year, through yoga, I hope to improve my core strength, balance, flexibility and overall strength and health.

As in running, yoga helps me keep my competitive edge in check. This is my practice, my journey. The runner in front of me or the yogi next to me has his or her own journey. And we’re both doing the best we can for ourselves.

 

One thought on “Journeying in 2013

  1. Divine order – it is not accident that you have created more space for yoga– and now it informs your running practice – way to grow.

Leave a Reply

