Boston

I came across this beautiful expression of one runner’s experience at last week’s Boston Marathon and encourage you to read it as well … Boston.

I cry every time I see stories about the marathon runners on the news. I’ve tried to explain that feeling of approaching the finish line (which starts months before race day) to my non-runner family and friends. Words don’t suffice to describe that feeling where a thousand feelings — happiness, exhaustion, elation, and on and on — become one. I nearly cry and sometimes do, not out of sadness, every time I approach a finish line because of that overwhelming feeling. I can’t imagine what it was like at Boston’s finish or sidelines or to hear the blasts in the medal line as a volunteer happily placed a medal around my neck

Blogger Running Sunflower is right. The bombers didn’t know who they were messing with when they struck terror on the Boston Marathon.

She writes …

“Runners are also tough, and resilient. When we train for marathons, we put in months of work. We voluntarily put our bodies, minds and spirits through tests of sometimes-nightmarish rigor. We have bad runs and get over them. We have injuries and get over them. We soil ourselves in every way imaginable, and see others doing the same, and we get over it. We share water, food, toilet paper, elation, and despair. We keep on running. And the Boston Marathon? It’s been around for 117 YEARS. That is commitment. That is resilience.”

I haven’t been running as much in the past couple of months, but it’s still a part of who I am. The other day I happened upon a hiking trail and ran through it to see where it would lead me. It guided me down a ridge with a babbling creek at the bottom flanked by trees and forest creatures. I had a smile on my face almost the whole time (save for the uphill runs ;))

Stepdad Chris was walking behind me. I had stop and have him capture my happiness at discovering this new trail.

Stepdad Chris was walking behind me. I had to stop and have him capture my happiness at discovering this new trail.

I’m inspired by the running community in my city. It’s one of unprecedented love and support, and fun, of course! I’ve been seeing posts by our very own elite runner Leah Thorvilson, who is recovering from surgery. She’s on crutches and has been walking/hobbling a mile a day in honor of Boston. Through yoga and mutual friends, I’m thankful to call her a friend. She is the epitome of this runner spirit that Running Sunflower describes in her blog post. Determination, inspiration and hope can never be destroyed, no matter the size of the bomb.

One thought on “Boston

  1. Pingback: Renewed running | Running with it

Leave a Reply

