Challenge accepted

Tomorrow is the BIG day. The day my friend Alex and I, along with lots of other folks, start the Arbonne 28-Day Clean Eating/Detox Challenge. I got a little jump start when I cut out coffee Friday. Giving up that habit hasn’t been easy, but as one person said, “It’ll be okay, no one will die.” The headaches have subsided and I’m not as foggy feeling. The Arbonne Energy Fizz sticks have helped tremendously!

Today, Alex and I headed to Whole Foods with our grocery shopping list for the first week of recipes. I was very overwhelmed at first. Trying to find the right things proved trickier than I thought. I don’t know if it was the weather or what, but people seemed pushier and ruder than normal, too. This only added to my “Oh my gosh, what am I doing?” feeling. We loaded up on everything we could find there, and then made our way to Fresh Market, where we found more spice options and other items listed. I’ve realized I could probably find most things at my local supermarket and save the specialty items for the more exclusive stores. A learning curve, indeed.

After I arranged all my organic colorful and vibrant foods in my fridge and kitchen, the overwhelming feeling subsided. Since tomorrow also means back to work and tighter schedules, we decided to prepare our first dinner for Day 1. That way all we have to do tomorrow is throw it in the oven. Thanks to Alex, I learned some tricks on how to efficiently cut fat off chicken, chop fresh garlic cloves and cut fresh herbs.

Image

Pictured above are the makings of oven baked fajitas! Free-range chicken cut into strips, smothered with this fabulous smelling spice mixture of cumin, chili powder, garlic and other goodness, topped with diced tomatoes, jalapenos, bell peppers and onions. After about 25 minutes of baking … voila! Dinner will be served.

I love good food and appreciate the art of cooking. I’ve struggled with confidence in the kitchen. That’s a major reason I decided to take on this challenge. The motivation and support so far from Breezy (who introduced me to this endeavor) and others in the online group have been incredible. I’m now looking forward to gathering items for more recipes and cooking. I’m pretty confident that feeling will only improve.

 

2 thoughts on “Challenge accepted

  1. Jilly! That was so much fun. Looking forward to our fajita goodness tomorrow night. You left off that we made some really tasty salsa too.

Leave a Reply

