Detox Day 9: Protein bar anyone?

I’m filled with gratitude after all the encouraging comments I have received regarding my Week-1 wrap-up blog. Letting it all out and being honest about my experiences with this 28-day clean eating/detox challenge is kinda scary, but in a good way. All I know is I’m feeling happier, more grounded and more confident in my everyday happenings.

I finally had the chance to make homemade protein bars! Detox-friendly, of course.

20140415-225455.jpg
The ingredients: organic almond butter, brown rice syrup, Arbonne Essentials protein powder, Arbonne Essentials fiber boost and gluten free oats.
So I had a little snafu and didn’t heat the almond butter + syrup before adding in the other ingredients. Needless to say, it made mixing a little tougher. A spoon may or may not have been broken in the process 😉 All was heated and mixed, anyway, then spread over a 9X13 pan. After an hour in the fridge (if you prefer them chewy, just leave them at room temperature for an hour), DONE!

20140415-230041.jpg
My favorite furry friend, Josie, thought they looked good!

20140415-230141.jpg
She waited patiently while they were cut into 24 pieces (and earned a bite for her good behavior). They do taste delicious! But oh my they’re dense. Gonna have to enjoy these sparingly. 😉

Happy clean eating!

Leave a Reply

