Growing on health

photo

Pictured above is a beautiful little begonia I received following Easter service at church. Rolled up in the butterfly is an affirmation that’s pretty perfect for me. I didn’t know which affirmation I would get when I chose my plant. It says, “New growth now comes from the ‘ashes’ of my past mistakes to fertilize the garden of my life.”

I’m definitely experiencing some new growth right now in the way of my health and wellness, and a new door has opened up for me.

If you follow my Facebook posts and/or blog, you know I’m a bit (ok a lot) giddy over this 28-day clean eating/detox challenge I started two weeks ago. I’m now into Week 3. Woohoo! I haven’t felt this good in … goodness, I can’t even tell you.

I didn’t start this program to lose weight. I’m not one to weigh myself constantly or obsess over calorie counting. In fact, I maybe weigh myself three times a year. I go by how I feel and how my clothes fit. I started this program because I was feeling miserable after eating, I was moody, I stressed over what to have for lunch and dinner. I would let my glycemic levels get so out of whack that I would be a b**** to be around because I felt so awful. In short, I was out of balance and I needed to get some order back in my life.

I’ve been feeling so good as I embark on this lifestyle change that I want to share the health wealth. I’m now an Arbonne International independent consultant so that I can better share these lovely things with you. I don’t get behind “the next big thing” or things I don’t believe in. I don’t do fake very well. This is not a gimmick, a quick fix or a fad diet. This program provides the tools and support that make learning about food/what works for you, what doesn’t so simple. This is NOT a rapid weight loss program. A common notion is that you lose weight and then get healthy. The reality is you get healthy and you naturally lose weight.

A major plus to the 28-day challenge, and one of the strong factors that attracted my involvement, is you eliminate toxins in your body. With traditional weight-loss programs and “yo-yo diets” you plateau because you’re still not eliminating toxins. Fat cells protect your organs from toxins. When toxins are eliminated, fat cells shrink.

This challenge is supported by everyday people. It’s a practical approach that fuels your body with real (and delicious!) food while eliminating toxins and balancing your body’s pH. The pH balance is so important. When your body is more acidic, you’re more prone to disease and illness. By eliminating acidic-forming foods and incorporating more alkaline-forming foods, we are bringing our bodies back to neutral. For me, that has meant less inflammation, aches and pains all over my body.

At first when I learned about this challenge, I thought, “No way! I can’t give up my coffee, wine, bread and cheese!” But after more months of feeling like crap, I was ready for a change. The truly good feeling I have inside and the uplifted mood I’m experiencing far outweigh those things I thought I couldn’t live without.

This new endeavor is a learning curve for me, and I’d love to share the experience with others and pass on the compassionate support I’ve received. Let’s learn and grow together!

2 thoughts on “Growing on health

  1. Pingback: Believing is seeing: how Arbonne changes lives | Running with it

Leave a Reply

