Another day, another cooking adventure

Today is the first day of another 28-day clean eating/detox challenge. Oh, happy day! I am excited for my friends who just joined.

I enjoy so much responding to their texts, answering their questions and guiding them on this life-changing journey. I was so inspired during my first 28 days of this new way of grocery shopping/cooking/eating that I became an Arbonne independent consultant. The proprietary products – herbal detox tea, Digestion Plus probiotic blend, energy fizz sticks, just to name a few – go hand-in-hand with the program and complement the clean eating plan perfectly.

I never got around to making a meal on one of my weekly meal plans. Crispy Baked Quinoa Crusted Parmesan Chicken. Sounds good, eh? I got around to making it last night. It IS good.

photo 2

I need a professional photographer to shoot my food 😉 Take my word, it was delish! And those pretty green leaves are straight off my basil plant that I’ve  managed to keep alive. Score 1 for my not-so-green-thumb.

The ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (free-range chicken, no antibiotics or hormones)
1/4 cup almond flour
1 cage-free egg, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
1 tsp clean Italian seasoning (no MSG or sugar)
1 cup (dairy-free) mozzarella
1/4 cup (dairy-free) parmesan, grated
2 cups clean spaghetti sauce (no sugar)
2 tbs. fresh basil

Season chicken with salt & pepper, dredge in flour, dip in egg and coat in the mixture of quinoa and Italian seasoning. Place chicken on a rack on a baking pan and bake in preheated 400-degree oven until cooked and lightly golden brown – about 25-30 minutes. Transfer chicken to a baking pan dish, top with cheese and broil until cheese is melted – about 2-4 minutes. Plate chicken and top with hot spaghetti sauce and fresh basil. Enjoy!

For dessert, I made vegan chocolate mousse. I love chocolate mousse and this option does not disappoint. Add in some fresh strawberry slices, and you have one sweet treat.

photo-10

 

 

Leave a Reply

