Note to self: I give you permission.

IMG_7115
A segment on entrepreneurship happened to be on the air today while I was driving along. This part hit me … the “crazy” doesn’t begin with the idea. It begins after you give yourself permission to follow your dreams and in the midst of the doing part. The biggest hurdle we all face is that mass between our ears – our head and the debilitating thoughts that stop us in our tracks. The timing of this radio interview couldn’t have come at a better time. The same theme was touched on during a meeting I attended this week.

“Give yourself permission.” I love that statement. So many of us grow up with the idea that it’s best to follow the status quo. We don’t know any differently. Go to college, get a good job, save what you can, retire. I followed that path, and I as a full-time writer, I enjoy what I do. Living paycheck to paycheck, though, I needed a change. And I realized I couldn’t wait for that raise or “perfect” job that would offer me more money. I had to make it happen. I’m giving myself permission to acknowledge what’s been brewing inside for a long time – my passion for health & wellness and the desire to share it with others. I realized this opportunity is the vehicle that will allow me to pursue other dreams, such as the publishing company that I licensed two years ago.

The other night I met with my Arbonne team in the comfort of one of our Regional Vice President’s home. I became an independent consultant in April to share the pure, safe and beneficial products. Friends and family were asking me about the nutritional supplements I had been using on the clean-eating challenge, so I figured I might as well sign up and be compensated for my recommendations and enjoy a healthy discount. The business plan looked intriguing, but my fears set in. “Oh, that’s good for other people. Sure, she did it, but I don’t think it’s for me. What will people think of me? What if it doesn’t work? I don’t like selling things. I don’t like standing in front of people.”

I still face those fears daily, but my belief in what I’m doing and sharing keeps me going. After signing up in April, I simply kept talking about my favorite products or would recommend something relative to casual conversation. I’ve been honest. I’ve been real. And guess what? I just promoted to the next level – District Manager! I was recognized at the meeting and also asked to give my “Why”.

IMG_7109The five ladies pictured with me above have inspired and supported my journey soooo very much in their special ways. I’m so grateful for their friendships and belief in me. My mom (camera-shy mom) is my biggest cheerleader. She wants this venture for me so badly and does whatever she can to help.

As I reflect on the past four years since my divorce (which left me with a lot of debt to take on), I realize I had been missing four major needs: choice, freedom, connection and flow. All four of those things are back in my life since discovering Arbonne. I feel and look better. I have more confidence. I’m learning new things every day about myself and the world of health & wellness. I’ve made new friends and work with women who support me. We believe in each other and praise each others’ successes. My life is flowing more naturally, and I’m feeling more grounded in all facets because I’m sharing my light with others. Fear of rejection used to have a leading role in my life. I have faced rejection a lot over the past six months. But  the “yeses” and connections with people who I never dreamed would see the value in what I’ve taken on far outweigh those rejections.

I have no idea where the journey is leading. But, as I know to be true in yoga, the unknown is a beautiful thing. Each time you step on the mat, you never know what you’ll learn, see and experience. As long as I continue fueling my health & wellness interest, I can’t go wrong. Same goes for you. Thoughts and over-thinking are what kill our dreams. Do what you love and I believe your individual life’s journey will present itself just how it’s meant to be.

One thought on “Note to self: I give you permission.

  1. You need to re-read this. It speaks to what is going on here in November between the holidays of TDAy and Christmas. It speaks to how we view the limits or the possibilities. How we say “I can and will” instead of” I can’t and I really don’t want to.”

Leave a Reply

