It’s live: living in the moment

2f2990c3f9bb359010ba2caf95fab3c2 The alarm went off at 5:05 a.m. “Hot yoga or more time in my warm, cozy bed?” That was the question at this early hour. I didn’t get to bed as early as I had planned. Who am I kidding, I never do. At least it was before midnight. After the alarm’s sound and a couple of snooze hits, I tossed and thought about skipping my morning mat time with the rest of the early bird yogis at Barefoot Studio. “Nah, get up. You won’t regret it. Come on!,” said my inner voice.

I’m glad I went, of course. Nothing like a good sweat and power flow to start the day as the sun rises. Instructor Marcus always prefaces the class with how the music might tie in to the practice. Today it was all live music. Whenever your mind starts wandering, imagine you’re at whatever live show is playing, he said. Get lost in that moment like you would at a show as the band ignites whistles, applause and “woohoos” among the crowd.

We get so busy living in our heads and wherever our bouncy thoughts take us. We obsess over the past, how we might have done things differently, or jump ahead to the future and how much we want something not yet attained. We forget about the present moment. I was reminded today to enjoy the very moment I’m breathing and honor all the moments that led me here to the now.

It’s a new day, a new month. Lots of moments to live. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

