Being a giver

12072677_10153100395106296_3330615380116886421_n

Weeks ago I was asked to share my “Why” at our multi-region Arbonne monthly meeting. I started my Arbonne journey last year, you might recall. Love for the products led me to starting my own business with the 35-year-old Swiss-based skincare & nutrition company. (It’s like a “business in a box,” as one of my friends has said. You don’t have to stock up on inventory or pay rent for a brick and mortar store. Becoming an independent consultant costs less than $100 and you can start making money immediately with tools and distribution at your fingertips.) I’ve heard many leaders in the business say your Why continually changes as you change and grow, both personally and professionally. I full understand that now.

As I was thinking about what I wanted to share at the meeting, I realized my Why has changed. As I shared recently, my mom underwent surgery to attack the cancer she found out she had a few months ago. I recently celebrated a birthday, and I’m not usually one to get caught up on age, but this birthday hit me. Twenty years ago if you asked me where I’d be right now in my life, I think it would look a lot differently. I wouldn’t have been divorced by the time I was 30, and I wouldn’t be living in Arkansas (mostly because I didn’t live here at the time and it wasn’t on my radar). Basically, I thought I’d be headed down a more traditional path. My journey has led me elsewhere and I think about what I want and how I can be the best version of me now more than ever.

My family has given so much to me. Sometimes I feel guilty for how much they have helped me through the years. I’m tired of being the receiver. I want to be the giver and be a better person for my loved ones. I’ve been focused on personal growth for a while now, and I know I have a lot more to do. Just like learning, I think you can never stop evaluating and recognizing things in your life, triggers that evoke certain responses and everyday behaviors. How else can you know yourself, love yourself, and in turn, love others and allow them to love you?

I started writing this post the day after sharing my “Why” and hadn’t come back to finish it until recently when I stumbled upon this image.

12182911_714984638533787_279321160918327647_o

As hard as that is to hear sometimes, it’s so true. No matter what has happened to you, how someone has wronged you or hurt you, you have to take personal responsibility in the matter. Falling into the victim trap can be so easy. It’s so easy to point the finger and blame others for loss and struggle in relationships, financial situations or whatever the case may be.

Every day, I try to remind myself I am not a victim. I take personal responsibility for where I am on my journey and for the situations, the things and the people in my life. I’m hopeful this truth will help me be a better giver as I work to serve others.

Leave a Reply

